Trip Permits

An IRP Trip Permit is required when a vehicle needs to travel through Georgia and the vehicle meets the criteria for apportioned registration under International Registration Plan (IRP), but does not have an apportioned registration for Georgia.



A Motor Fuel Use Tax Permit is required when a qualified vehicle needs to travel through Georgia and the vehicle meets the criteria for International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) but either has not received or does not have IFTA credentials.

A Hunter’s Trip Permit is required when a vehicle needs to travel in order to find work within the state of Georgia. This permit is for unladen vehicles only.

IRP Trip Permit:
  • Valid for 72 hours
  • Cost is $30.00
  • Must be safety compliant through SAFER/PRISM
IRP Hunter's Trip Permit:
  • Valid for 72 hours
  • Cost is $30.00
  • Must be safety compliant through SAFER/PRISM
Motor Fuel Use Tax Permit:
  • Valid for 10 days
  • Cost is $16.00
  • Must be safety compliant through SAFER/PRISM



▲ Back to TOP

FAQs on Trip Permits:

Frequently Asked Questions - Click the blue bars to review your FAQ's.

When do I need an IRP Trip Permit?
When do I need an IRP Trip Permit?
When a vehicle(s) travels in two or more jurisdictions (State or Canadian Province) and is: A 72-hour Trip Permit is required for the following out-of-state based vehicles that meet the requirements for apportionment: those with current non–apportioned tags, and those with IRP tags not apportioned for Georgia.

The Permit must be secured prior to entry and must remain with the vehicle while in the state. A duplicate or photocopy is not acceptable.

A Trip Permit for traveling into Georgia will be available online from November 1st for a fee of $30.00 and allows interstate and intrastate operation in Georgia.

Georgia-based carriers, who are not apportioned to travel in another IRP state, but wish to do so, must contact that state or the wire services to obtain any needed Trip Permit and information on other requirements of operation. If not apportioned for it before entering any other IRP member state, a Trip Permit must be secured and carried in the cab of the vehicle for which issued or the vehicle may be subject to full registration fees in that state and or fined. Georgia does not sell trip permits to Georgia-based carriers.

When do I need Motor Fuel Use Tax Permits?
When do I need Motor Fuel Use Tax Permits?
If you need to travel out–of–state before you receive your IFTA credentials, you must purchase fuel trip permits to travel in IFTA jurisdictions and for your reentry into Georgia. Your Georgia Motor Fuel Use Tax Permit must be purchased and validated before you reenter the state. A 10–day Motor Fuel Use Tax Permit will be available online from November 1st for a fee of $16.00.

When do I need Hunter's Permit?
When do I need Hunter's Permit?
Georgia based owner–operator who was previously leased to a motor carrier and whose current year tag was in the carrier's name but is no longer leased to them, and as a result has no IRP registration. This permit allows an operator to move his empty vehicle from place to place, as needed, in looking for employment.

This permit is valid for seven (7) days for a fee of $30.00 and will be available online from November 1st. The original Unladen Vehicle Registration- Hunter Permit must be carried in the vehicle described and a duplicate or photocopy is not acceptable.

Georgia will recognize a valid Unladen Vehicle Registration-Hunter Permit issued by another state and allow travel in this state without the purchase of a Georgia Unladen Vehicle Registration –Hunter Permit. Other states will recognize a valid Georgia Unladen Vehicle Registration– Hunter Permit.

Can I print/reprint my Trip permit?
Can I print/reprint my Trip permit?
Yes all Trip Permits can be printed and reprinted.





▲ Back to TOP